Sloths, Sloths, Sloths & Whitewater rafting!

My favorite animal of Costa Rica is definitely a sloth. I was able to go to the sloth sanctuary the first day that I was in CR. It was something that I was not able to do while I was here for a semester so I was super excited to go!

When we got to the sanctuary, which was about 45 minutes away, we saw so many statues of sloths. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from a sloth sanctuary but it was awesome. There were about 5 sloths who were kept in 4 different compartments in a zoo type home in this one room. They had their trees to climb on, some had swings, they had branches, and they were all in their own little home. Many of these sloths had been rescued. They had 2 toed sloths, which are not very nice, and 3 toed sloths, which are nice and super cute and look like they are always smiling!

Above is the 2-toed sloth, Millie!

And this is the 3-toed sloth, which I find to be much cuter, Toyota!

From there we went to go and see THE BABIES!! The baby sloths were so precious. There were at least 10 of them and they were the tiniest cutest little creatures. Here is one two of them playing:

After seeing all the sloths we set out to explore the sanctuary some more. They had a nice river all around the sanctuary and we go a personal canoe tour of the grounds. It was very peaceful and quiet, for the most part, back on the rivers and we even were able to see some sloths in the wild.

Here is part of the river we were on:

After our river tour we looked at the “jungle” and saw some flowers and what not. We got some fresh fruit and got to enjoy it in the picnic area with a new friend:

And the trip was done.

My next day in Costa Rica was spent white-water rafting. I hadn’t been white water rafting in a long time so I was pretty excited to go. We were doing level 2 and level 1 rapids so I figured I would be able to handle it. The bus ride was about an hour and I got all suited up with my helmet, lifejacket, and paddle. There were 7 of us in our raft and then Oso, or “bear”, who was our guide. I was stuck in the back with him…

We started off practicing going forward, going backward, ducking down, spinning in circles, and everything else in a little peaceful area right near where we started. Oso tried to push me off but I was secure. We also got into some paddle fights with the other boats to see who could splash the most water and I was absolutely horrible at splashing people but oh well.

From there we adventured down the rapids, starting at the level 2 and working our way down. I believe that we ended up going down about 600 feet over the few miles that we went. The rapids were not too bad at all except one time I almost flew out. Besides that, it was pretty easy and steady. I wasn’t much help paddling though.

We got to a part where we could swim because the next rapid wasn’t for too long and I got pushed in by Oso. I was the only one in the water who had my paddle with me so that was interesting. People pulled me back in by my lifejacket and I was supposed to help pull others in but again, I wasn’t much help. I clearly need to do some muscle building after this adventure…

When the rapids calmed down we were able to go and sit on the very front of the boat and just chill while the rest of the people paddled. One of the girls ended up falling in doing that. I luckily didn’t. I did end up getting splashed by the people on the other boats a ton though because the front is a very easy target.

It was a lot of fun and I would love to do something like it again, but more intense :) I don’t have any pictures because my camera is not waterproof but a few people had waterproof cameras so hopefully I will be able to get some of them!

Both of the trips that I did finished in the early afternoon so I explored two different towns but I will write about that later! I am back on the ship now and we have two days of classes and then we will be in Belize on Tuesday I believe!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sloths, Sloths, Sloths & Whitewater rafting!

  1. Rob Cones

    very cool! Love the baby sloths amd great pictures! Glad you got memory card figured out! MISS YA! Love Dad

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

